Holy Days of Obligation

Holy days of obligation are Solemnities and Feast Days that are to be treated as if they were Sundays and Catholics are to observe them as Sunday duties. On These days  Catholics are required to attend Mass and to (when it is possible to do so) avoid servile work. There are currently ten Holy Days of Obligation in the Latin Rite of the Catholic Church; in the United States, only six Holy Days of Obligation are observed. These six are identified below. 

Date                                      Holy Day Name                           

All Sundays are obligatory for the faithful to participate in the Mass

January 1st

Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God


40 days from Easter
(always a Thursday)

Ascension of Jesus


August 15th

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary


November 1st

All Saints' Day


December 8th

Feast of the Immaculate Conception


December 25th




Please see the Bulletin for Mass Schedules or Call the Parish Office at 585-243-1100 for more information.

Online Giving

Online Giving

Secure and Convenient Donate now!